Life, Uncategorized

At the Mall

It was an early morning appointment for my daughter’s eye exam, at the LensCrafters in the mall today…9:30 am. I reached with my girls at 9:15 am and it was pleasant to see that the mall was still waking up….

We entered from the food court entrance. Knowing me, I chose that entrances for
A. It was closest to the LensCrafters
B. my nose wanted to smell “what’s cooking”?
C. Might find a great cafe latte.

We had 15 more minutes to kill….which actually seemed like an investment at that time, since the city and mall is new to us…we got good time for wandering and orientation. It is a small mall with cross shaped pattern…..one side ended in food court…second had sears….3rd had Dillard’s and 4th had kohl’s…well to my surprise since I have never seen a kohl’s being a part of a mall…but wonderful concept….more money spent at the mall… I am an avid Kohl’s shopper… Anyways that is not the point that I want to make in this article.

The good part of being at the mall that early was I didn’t have to switch all my eyes and antennas on to track my kids….they were right there in front of me and around me but not lost in the sea of the people….. People…ah! that reminds me…. The people present there at the mall that time were couple of groups of old retired men….few old age couples taking a morning walk in controlled environment….few new moms or mothers with little ones…shopping at the cookie shop…Aunt Annie’s ladies rolling out fresh cinnamon pretzel bites..yumm…and smelled divine.

The people that touched me the most were the old gentlemen sitting in a huge circle…holding a coffee each…right at a spot which was hard to be missed. They were talking and laughing loud….but their eyes were eager to make an eye contact with the strangers to get a smile and a hello for their old souls. My older one was amused as she had never seen so many older men tithe same time. I told her to be polite and thugs to be a role model for her then and there.

A older gentleman turned around and said hello…I stopped and said hello back to him politely and a big smile…..his eyes became warm and face lit up for being noticed….that reminded me of my grandfather, who passed away 6 years ago…. I sometimes feel him around…. The old souls have touched me with their warmth and an eagerness to be noticed and appreciated.

Well it was time for my daughter’s eye exam….the optometrist was very happy go lucky girl..which was a surprise since I gave never met a fun optometrist before :).. Those guys are pretty tight faced and do your business look on them…no offense intended here.

She had a swim class to go to after the exam and we had 50 minutes to “invest” again. W went back to Aunt Annie’s pretzel shop..one of my favorite one….requested a fresh baked jalapeño pretzel with low salt and minimum butter..got some cinnamon bite pretzels too….delish is the word :)))… Yum yum yum…all the way…kids were getting hungry too….ate the pretzels…went back to the car and drove for second duty as a mother and chauffeur…swim lessons….and the mall was left behind to be visited again..

I would actually go back to the mall early in the morning where there are still old men and older couples doing their morning walk and busy in their morning gossip and hustle bustle…

I will be at the mall again for sure !

Standard

Leave a Reply

